Book Club

Bookish Gang assemble! Book Club is back and we are so excited! Join us this January as we read UNBOUND by Bronx author Tarana Burke,  February we'll be reading AIN'T BURNED ALL THE BRIGHT by Jason Reynolds and in March we dive into Bronx author Raven Leilani's LUSTER. Bookish Gang members receive an exclusive discount on our book club selections so be sure to enter BKISHGANG10 for ten percent off. 

Unbound: My Story of Liberation and the Birth of the Me Too Movement Cover Image
$28.99
ISBN: 9781250621733
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Flatiron Books: An Oprah Book - September 14th, 2021

INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

"Searing. Powerful. Needed." —Oprah

“Sometimes a single story can change the world. Unbound is one of those stories.
Tarana’s words are a testimony to liberation and love.” —Brené Brown


Ain't Burned All the Bright Cover Image
By Jason Reynolds, Jason Griffin (Illustrator)
$19.99
ISBN: 9781534439467
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Atheneum/Caitlyn Dlouhy Books - January 11th, 2022

Prepare yourself for something unlike anything: A smash-up of art and text for teens that viscerally captures what it is to be Black. In America. Right Now. Written by #1 New York Times bestselling and award-winning author Jason Reynolds.

Jason Reynolds and his best bud, Jason Griffin had a mind-meld.


Luster: A Novel Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781250798671
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Picador - June 8th, 2021

A NEW YORK TIMES NOTABLE BOOK OF THE YEAR


We Are Owed. Cover Image
$20.00
ISBN: 9781735352763
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Grieveland - July 29th, 2021

We Are Owed. is the debut poetry collection of Ariana Brown, exploring Black relationality in Mexican and Mexican American spaces. Through poems about the author's childhood in Texas and a trip to Mexico as an adult, Brown interrogates the accepted origin stories of Mexican identity.


For Brown Girls with Sharp Edges and Tender Hearts: A Love Letter to Women of Color Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781541674875
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Seal Press - September 7th, 2021

The founder of Latina Rebels’ “electrifying debut” (LA Times) arms women of color with the tools and knowledge they need to find success on their own terms  

For generations, Brown girls have had to push against powerful forces of sexism, racism, and classism, often feeling alone in the struggle. By founding Latina Rebels, Prisca Dorca


When We Make It Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9780593324486
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Dial Books - September 21st, 2021

"The energy. The clarity. The beauty. Elisabet Velasquez brings it all. . . . Her voice is FIRE!"—NYT bestselling and award-winning author Jacqueline Woodson
 
An unforgettable, torrential, and hopeful debut young adult novel-in-verse that redefines what it means to "make it,” for readers of Nicholasa Mohr and Elizabeth Acevedo.


Wild Tongues Can't Be Tamed: 15 Voices from the Latinx Diaspora Cover Image
By Saraciea J. Fennell (Editor)
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250763426
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Flatiron Books - November 2nd, 2021

Edited by The Bronx Is Reading founder Saraciea J. Fennell and featuring an all-star cast of Latinx contributors, Wild Tongues Can’t Be Tamed is a ground-breaking anthology that will spark dialogue and inspire hope